Feedback and reflections – Week 5

Capture

 

 

 

This week, I carried on updating my college Twitter account. I have gained 26 followers overall (6 since last week) who are mainly college peers and a couple of YouTubers. I have been using the hashtag “#ccfilmsquad” when tweeting about work or college matters. I have also tweeted some accounts with large followings asking them to look at our hashtag or tweet it- this way, we would all gain some recognition on Twitter.

I have learnt a lot about camera movement this week. Before the lesson on camera movement, I never looked closely at the movement of characters/anything else in the shot but I now realise that the movement can highly affect the overall mood of the scene and can tell the story on its own, without dialogue being needed – e.g. the scene from Amelie we watched earlier in the week- it made the story clear even though dialogue was not used.

After an in depth session learning about movement, we then went out and created our own short videos that show our understanding of camera movements. After I had finished my edit I showed it to a college lecturer and received some feedback- he gave me some editing tips to make my videos look smoother and generally better. He told me that the background music should indicate when to cut a scene- “cut on the beat”. He said that whenever there’s catchy, upbeat background music, there should be a new cut per beat as this is what viewers would find the most aesthetically pleasing. This is definitely something I will take into consideration when filming my Winter project and my final major project.

 

Feedback and reflections – Week 5

One thought on “Feedback and reflections – Week 5

  1. Jenni – REFLECTIVE WRITING FEEDBACK W/C 29TH FEBRUARY
    There is some touches of reflective writing here – This is definitely something I will take into consideration when filming my Winter project and my final major project – and – I have learnt a lot about camera movement this week – so this is most definitely a good start. Just think about adding what you are going to do with this knowledge, and what you would have done if it had not work. But this is a really good start.

    Like

Leave a comment